Find out what Contemporary restaurants to try in Bormujos including Doce Tapas, Mechela Arenal, Mechela Bailen
4 based on 288 reviews
We arrived on a Monday night and Castillja de la Cuesta is a bit of a ghost town....most restaurants being closed so we were looking forward to dinner at 12 Tapas the next evening. As it happened we passed by late lunch time on Tuesday and decided to try it for lunch. Well, it was so good, we went back again for dinner to try some other items on their exciting and innovative menu.Lunchtime fare included delicious tuna tartare on guacamole with pops of spice from the wasabi sesame seeds sprinkled on the top. The guacamole was delicious and full of lime. Little solomillo of pork in mustard and saffron was very tasty as was the wok of vegetables and small squid with soy and sweet chilli. The deconstructed cheesecake looked fantastic and tasted beautifully creamy.For dinner I tried the supreme of bacalao with baked onion marmalade and pine nuts which was melt in the mouth and we shared the entrecÃ´te of beef on Mijas. It was a bit tough in places but cooked lovely and rare. Delicious recommendation of white Navarra Chardonnay, buttery and fruity.Service was excellent in this family run modern little restaurant. Admittedly there are not many restaurants to choose from in this small, almost suburb of Seville, but refreshing to see a family put effort into creating modern and different and very tasty tapas to rival any big city place. A definite must if you are ever here, but worth the trip,out of Seville if you fancy something really good, and cheap.
4 based on 166 reviews
Mechela Arenal will be closed from 29th July until 19th August for holidays. We will open the 20th for dinner.
We had a mixed experience here. Some of the food was excellent- particularly the lobster on rice, the lamb chops and the oxtail tagine. Some of it - like the pulpo tapas was OK, while the crispy big prawn was a disappointment, a not particularly succulent prawn swimming in what tasted like a sea of sweet almond cream, accompanied by grapes. (Fruit pops up a bit on the menu as an accompaniment, not always to good effect-the lamb chops weren't improved by the sliced strawberries). There appeared to be only two wait staff for a full restaurant, and service was consequently pretty shambolic. Perhaps we were there on a night they were short handed. We were served a dish we hadn't ordered, and I had to leave my seat to order a glass of wine. (If you are seated behind the wooden screen near the front of the restaurant you become more or less invisible to the wait staff).While there is undoubtedly some nice food being done here overall I preferred our meal at El Pasaje Santa Maria La Blanca which was substantially cheaper.
4 based on 1838 reviews
Mechela will be closed from 29th July until 20th August for rest of the staff. We will open the 21st for dinner.
The City of Sevilla has dozens of excellent restaurants, Mechela Restaurante is definitely not one of them.After reading multiple reviews on this site we were confident we were going to have an excellent dining experience.One reviewer even claimed Mechelaâs was a Michelin calibre restaurant.In truth, it is far, far from it, in fact, after 8 days in Sevilla we would say our dining experience at this restaurant was by far the worst of our visit.For our dinner we ordered two starters, the Salmon Plato (Salmon Tartar) and the Bouqueron Marinado (Anchovy Salad).For our main courses we ordered Arroz Negro Plato (Black Seafood Rice) and Carrillera (Brazed Pork Cheeks).After selecting our wine the server brought us the Pan (Bread) and Picos (Olives). This was our first hint the restaurant may have been over-rated.The olives were completely dry and there was not even a hint of brine in the bowl.The second hint was when our waitress brought us our wine glasses and one of the glasses was filthy.I will touch on each of our menu selections;The Salmon Tartar was extremely bland and no real flavour, it came with diced apple and cucumber. It was garnished with a sprig of mint for some unclear reason.Ultimately, when you order a salmon dish, the star of the plate should not be the cucumber, but it definitely was in this case.The second starter was the anchovy salad which was also garnished with a large sprig of mint. The salad was layered with mango, avocado, nectarines, kiwis and two fresh cherries.The avocado was an unpalatable dark brownish color. Some aspects of this dish were okay but the overall impression was two misses at this point.The next dish served was the black seafood rice.This dish consisted of a large portion of black rice adorned with one prawn, one piece of fried calamari and one tiny oyster. There was some indiscernible pieces of seafood in the dish but nowhere near what you might expect for 8.50 euros.On the plus side, I would say the rice had good flavour but again, when you order a seafood dish, the rice should not be the star on the plate.Our final dish was the pork cheeks.The dish was served with two large sprigs of rosemary that were clearly not brazed in the pan with the pork and added nothing to the dish in terms of flavour. This dish also lacked flavour and concerned us because it seemed the pork may have been undercooked.Overall, this restaurant was extremely disappointing.It seems the proprietor is more interested in the bottom line then providing a good dining experience that offers good value for your dollar.Do not believe the positive reviews. As we pondered our fate, my wife made an interesting observation...there were NO local people in the dining room, I think thats telling.The dining room was full of tourists like us who read Trip Advisor to help us with our dining selections.Iâm writing this to help you with yours.As an option, you might consider going to Az Zait - this actually is a Michelin recommended restaurant and was the best dining experience weâve had in Sevilla.del mensajeDear customer, we're sorry your experience has been so unsatisfactory. We don't know if you are motivated by the high expectations you had created by yourself. On the other hand we would like to clarify some aspects about your comments.We offer a traditional cuisine elaborated daily with fresh products.In our menu we have seafood rice which is what you chose, therefore, it is reasonable, that the main ingredient is rice.It advises other users not to create positive opinions. We accept both favourable and unfavourable opinions, but it is not acceptable to take away the credibility of 1,641 opinions over 1.811. Is your opinion more credible than that of other users? We accept that you didnÂ´t like our food but accept the opiniÃ³n of other users based on their experience. You recommend another restaurant "friend" of the city who work hard as we do. You can check that it has recent unfavorable opinions. Are these more or less credible? Surely they would appreciate it if you would publish a good opinion about them or about the other restaurants you have visited. Finally, you add that our restaurant was full of foreigners. I inform you that in Mechela BailÃ©n 65-70% of customers are local people and in Mechela Arenal are 95%. Perhaps, because of the time of the year in which we are, that we usually go the weekend to the beaches or on holidays, you found mostly foreign public. These foreign clients, like you, are just as appreciated to us as the local people..Thank you for your time. Greetings.
ThingsToDoWeb © 2018 All rights reserved.